We’ve Got Spirit

When I was a little girl, wherever I saw cheerleaders, I was mesmerized by their uniforms and the way they carried themselves. Football games were not about the football, they were about the cheerleaders.

The uniforms always looked amazing, and I couldn’t wait to wear it someday. But I never knew what the uniform actually was- a skirt & long sleeve shirt? A dress? A tank top with a long sleeve shirt under? It was all so confusing, but it was all so beautiful.

It is a little crazy to believe that now I am the cheerleader, and I am on the “inside” of the cheer world. This is what the cheer uniform consists of, in case you had the same curiosity that I did when I was little but never figured it out.

1

1. The shell. This is the top of the uniform, and it is the central piece of the ensemble.

2

2. The skirt. This is one of those things that doesn’t look so great on a hanger but looks amazing when you put it on.

3

3. The liner & briefs. These things aren’t very fun, but they pull everything together. I was very surprised when I got the liner and learned it was a “crop-top” style.

45

4. The warmup. This might be the most universally coveted part of the cheer uniform. And let me just tell you- it is not called the warmup for no reason.

6

5. The poms & shoes. My poms and shoes have both gotten a good beating in the past six weeks, but they look really clean and neat from a distance. Surprisingly, the shoes are extremely comfortable.

7

6. The bow. This is my favorite part of the entire uniform. Everybody looks cuter with a bow, right?!

There has not been a time when I am less than joyful to put all of this on. The first month I had it, I would put it on for fun and strut around the house. I hope this helped give you an understanding of what it is that we cheerleaders wear when we’re jumping around on the field.

Leave a Reply

